Sign up ×
Craft CMS Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for administrators, end users, developers and designers for Craft CMS. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We had an instance where a user deleted an admin and it seemed to delete the content that user had created. Is this currently how Craft works? If so is there a way around that without having to change every entry's author. Or suggestion adding a prompt to warn user of content being deleted and to just suspend them.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Currently, yes, that's how it works.

It's on our list to 1) Add a prompt warning what's about to happen and 2) Add options as to what you want to do with that author's current content (assign to a different user, delete, etc.).


As of Craft 2.3, when a user's account is deleted you'll be prompted what you want to do with their content.

share|improve this answer
Any update on the reassignment feature? We had a client make the user-delete mistake today and had to roll back the database. – user866 Oct 6 '14 at 23:49
None yet, @JDH. I'll see what we can do about this for 2.3, though. – Brad Bell Oct 7 '14 at 2:57
This is really fucked up. Client deleted his account and all posts gone. This should NOT be standard behaviour in gods name! – Tom De Smet Jan 22 at 18:14

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.